NeuroGeMM Research Group

Neuro-Genetics of Mouse Models


Meet the Yalcin Group

Members of the YALCIN Group in November 2021.


Dr Binnaz YALCIN Assistant Professor

Dr Binnaz Yalcin (full CV)

Dr Yalcin have contributed to important aspects of disease genetics using high-throughput genetic, genomic methodologies and mice as genetic models of cognitive disorders. Her ambition has always been to pursue her career in functional and translational disease genetics at the highest level.

Binnaz received her D.Phil in November 2007 from the University of Oxford under the supervision of Profs Flint and Mott. During her postdoctoral training (2007-2011), she became interested in outbred mice for genetic studies. She discovered the complexity of genomic structure in mice and how it relates to phenotypic variation. In 2011, she secured an EMBO Fellowship allowing her to move to Switzerland. For her own independent career, she obtained an Ambizione Fellowship in 2013 to work on the neurobiology of intellectual disability. She set up her own laboratory in 2016 at the IGBMC (Strasbourg, France) through an international call. One year later, the High Council for the Evaluation of Research and Higher Education scored her team as “excellent to outstanding with great future prospects”. She presented her work at 25 International Conferences of which 9 were under a formal invitation. She has received 17 awards/prizes, the most recent being the International Mary Lyon Award in recognition for an early-stage independent female researcher. To fund her research, she raised and managed a cumulative sum of 3.0 million EUR and employed four PhD students, two postdoctoral fellows and two research assistants (since 2016). In 2019, she secured a tenured INSERM position (Assistant Professor equivalent) after being ranked Major in a national competition. She has 15 years of experience in mouse neurobiology and recently joined the Governance Board of the International Research Consortium for the Corpus Callosum.


Dr Stephan COLLINS Senior Lecturer

Dr Stephan Collins

Stephan holds a D.Phil from Oxford University in genetics of diabetes and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Wellcome Centre for Human Genetics working on metabolic syndrome and morbid obesity. After several years as an electrophysiologist in Prof Rorsman’s lab, he became interested in neurogenetics and joined Dr Yalcin’s team in 2016 to study mechanisms underlying comorbidities between cognition and obesity.

Dr Collins has been a lecturer at the University of Burgundy-Franche-Comté since 2012. He provides a 196-hour service teaching in cell biology and animal biology for BSc students with additional teachings in genetics and neurosciences for MSc students. He has extensive experience in high-speed neuroanatomical data analysis, statistical analysis, project and database management and 3D imaging technology development.

Email: Phone: +33 3 80 39 66 60


Charlotte MONTILLOT PhD student

Charlotte Montillot

Charlotte joined the Yalcin group in October 2019 where she is preparing her thesis. Her doctoral work is to decipher the role of VPS13B in the central nervous system with a focus on the hippocampal formation and the corpus callosum.

Charlotte obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Biology and Biochemistry at the University of Burgundy-Franche-Comté and a Master’s degree in Neurobiology at Nice Sophia Antipolis University.

Email: Phone: +33 3 80 39 66 11


Clémence ALIBERT Engineer

Clémence Alibert

Clémence joined Dr Yalcin’s group in October 2021 to develop a new method for higher-order nuclear architecture to study how neurodevelopmental anomalies of the corpus callosum impact chromatin architecture within single nuclei of the mouse brain.

Clémence has a dual academic training in biology and chemistry. After preparatory classes in sciences and an engineering school in chemistry, Chimie ParisTech in Paris (France), Clémence enrolled for a Master’s double degree in bioengineering and neurosciences. Before joining the Yalcin group, Clémence undertook two long-term internships, in the lab of Prof Wallace (Edinburgh Scotland) focusing on molecular mechanisms used by fungi to respond to their environment and the lab of Dr Sandoz (University of Nice-Côte d’Azur France) to work on ion channels at the axon initial segment using TIRF imaging on single-molecule pull-down (SiMPull) assays.

Email: Phone: +33 3 80 39 66 11


Sylvie NGUYEN EPHE student

Sylvie Nguyen

Passionate about experimental work, Sylvie joined the Yalcin group in September 2021 as an EPHE (École Pratique des Hautes Études) student to work on the genetic and functional characterization of WDR genes in the central nervous system using histology, animal behavior and electrophysiology.

Sylvie obtained her Bachelor’s degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and joined a Master degree in Nutrition/Health/Foods.

Email: Phone: +33 3 80 39 66 11



Visiting Professor

Christel Depienne

Postdoctoral Fellow

Efil Bayam (in collaboration with Dr J. Godin)

Research Assistants

Christel Wagner

Marie-Christine Fischer

Rebecca Balz

Helen Whitley (Medical training)

Anais Duret

PhD students

Meghna Kannan (PhD 2016)

Anna Mikhaleva (PhD 2017)

Perrine Kretz (PhD 2021)

MSc students

Benazir Peerally

Zineddine Allaoua

Adam Lahmar

Axel Brocard

Maxence Milhau

Bryan Capi

Jules Roussey

Marion Gaborit (PhD ongoing)

Mathilde Kobler (Medical training)

Maxime Meylan (PhD ongoing)

Sebastian Ciscares-Velazquez

David Gualberto

Gilles Leininger

Nestor Demeure (PhD 2021)

Jonathan Delevoye

Laura Durieux (PhD 2021)

Somasekhar Jayaram (PhD ongoing)

Axel Da Costa

BSc students

Marie Thirion

Gael Fleury

Gaspard Boursier

Nawal Yahiaoui (Master ongoing)

Clara Bonnet (PhD ongoing)

Paula Hahn (Master ongoing)

Maria Ossipenko (Master 2021)

Sophie Lottiaux

Dylan Huynh (Master 2019)

Clara Casana

Elizabeth Ramos-Morales (PhD 2021)

Luc Reymond

Sarah Arthur (PhD 2018)

Amicie De Pierrefeu (PhD 2018)

Intern students

Maylis Joly

Narjisse Kenani

Elisia Isturiz

Nina Pigeonneau

Emeline Aguilar

Mariane Litt

Saranya Ott

Lisa Haerri

Léo Gagliardi

Kevin Navarro

Visiting International students

Gulsah Evyapan (PhD 2020)

Emina Makedona

Ananya Pathak

Ezgi Mehmetoglu

Durna Kumruoglu

Student Assistants

Marity Dessolain

Flavie Theveny

Mélina Gailly

Isabelle Herr

Amandine Delay

Livia Chrast (Medical training)


Note: When known, the current professional status of students is indicated in bracket.

Suivez-nous sur :